Skip the Jif, I’ll Have Pop to Breakfast With Me


  

Gifts from my dad by Allison Huyett

    Gentlemen prefer blondes and I prefer Skippy, for those rare times peanut butter comes to the cupboard. There were two herons in the creek this morning. One was actively wading beneath the drapery of the trees at the edge of the creek. The second was in a funky state, more feathers than bird, like it just got out of the shower and had a good shake.

   If someone could come back from the dead this morning and have breakfast, lunch or brunch with me, it would be my father, who died at age 55, when I was 23. He always was right, about everything. To give you some examples, he advised these three things:

   1 Get an education and a good job.

   2 Don’t buy or build a house in a floodplain.

   3 Be nice to people.

     For Christmas 1974, he gave me three books: As a Man Thinketh, The Listening Heart and Gentle Thoughts, all from Peter Pauper Press.

    James Allen’s As A Man Thinketh contains this inscription:

    Alsie,

   Keep up the good work –

   I hope this little book may

   help you in the long

   road ahead.

                        Love Pop

     Gentle Thoughts: Know most of these thoughts and you really don’t need to know much more.

   Today we select this thought from Henri Frédric Amiel:

   Life is short and we have not too much time for

   gladdening the hearts of those who are traveling

   the dark way with us. Oh, be swift to love! Make

    haste to be kind.

 

   Dear Pop,

  I miss you. Thanks for the books. Wish you were here.

  Love, Alse.

3 thoughts on “Skip the Jif, I’ll Have Pop to Breakfast With Me

  1. What a wonderful post. I’m sure it makes your dad very happy. He is probably talkiing to my mom about how nice is it is to see that we are still friends after all these years!

    Another bond between us–losing a parent when we were 23. We’ve both been without our parent for longer than we had them. I also miss my mom every day. But also like you, I know that a lot of who I am today is because of the values my mom instilled in me.

Leave a Reply

