Wood Pellets


   Orange and yellow painted-on flames lick the packages of wood pellets outside Home Depot. They were stacked in two rows, the top said WOOD and the bottom read PELLETS. The display arrests my attention and gets my approval. The items are not on my list.

   I stop momentarily at the paint counter to look at new samples, finding the “green” paints comforting. Finally, we’re home! They seem to say. “We’re green for today.” The names of the colors are refeshing, too, when I find the samples I will tell you more.

   THINGS I NEVER KNEW DEPT.: There is a sign for an eyewash station near the back of the store and a rental center for used tools and place to buy used tools on one side of the store.

   I purchase a tiny pointsettia plant in a Santa planter.  I leave the store and visit a friend. She is thrilled with the plant. How inventive a pick-me-up!

Leave a Reply

