Popcorn


   Fished a popcorn container out of the street gutter this evening. I tore out the graphics and deposited the rest, which was a little dirty, into a Can It can. Downtown Improvement District not only is patrolling on bicycles, they have also added the colorful waste barrels to the area. After I stopped to inspect a bright orange Property Condemned notice on a pair of row houses with burnt second floors, I turned the corner, passed several people and a friendly black and white dog descended from its owner’s porch to say hello, followed shortly by a little black girl with an unwiped mouth (an ice cream truck had preceded me) who wanted to know what I had. I showed the torn-out popcorn box piece with its gay red and white striping to her. She wanted it. I gave it away. As she turned it over in her hands she asked “Did you go to the movies?” I returned to the idea house and the small grey cat that frequents the back yard. Its presumed father had been on top of a wooden fence gate up the street.

Leave a Reply

