Veris Davis, Duro 6 SEP 29 10


I forgot to mention earlier the stamp on the bottom of the bakery bag I received this morning at Dosie Dough from Meg. The stamp is in this post title: SEP 29 10

EL 48 C

VERIS DAVIS

that is all the information that is given, and that is a lot.

After I returned home this morning I telephoned the real estate agent from the front porch. There was neither answer nor provision for leaving a message. The young white pines in front of the house have sprouted growth spurts on their branches and these make a curious spring sprung pattern of upward streaks against the blue sky. I came inside as my feet were baking under black socks in the sunshine. I made a pair of artist trading cards. When this was completed, I started off on my right foot and then the left one and repeated the process until I had delivered one at one office building and and attempted the second delivery at another office building nearby, but was unable to obtain signature as the individual is working in a distant office, in another location today.  At this interval the real estate agent phoned me. The receptionist said the person I sought would be back tomorrow and I said I could return then.

As I walked back from the corporate center, I spied a huge heron flying above the suburban landscape. It looked like a man in a business suit for a moment. It made a turn and descended a few feet over the coporate ponds, the one with the plastic heron effigy designed to ward off other birds. It continued to fly and landed right on top of the second tall white pine among a stand of ten tall white pines trees east of 2010 Commerce Drive. It stood on top of the tree and its snaky neck looked just like a sprig of new tree growth, slender and barbed with needle bunches or in the heron’s case, wispy neck feathers to blow in the breeze. The trees are more than three stories tall, next to the two story building. I examined a needle bundle to make sure I have correctly identified the tree and I am not positive I have made correct identification. I like the trees because they are tall and stand out like the evergreens you might happen to see in the Carolinas.

2 thoughts on “Veris Davis, Duro 6 SEP 29 10

  1. In the town where I have lived on and off for the last 25 years, there were herons once. Back then, there were marshes, hovels and a tumbledown farmhouse where I lived with five girls. All of them students like me.

    We would watch them from our windows swooping and gliding as if controlled by a drunken slow motion puppet master. When the sun shone, they made the landscape charmed and inviting. When it rained, they made it worth looking further into the distance than the washing line and garden furniture. There was a grace about our herons than calmed our young hearts no matter how we raged.

    Years later, I came home from corporate hell in the city. Someone had built office blocks and hotels. There was a fitness centre with running machines because there was no more country to run in. There was a super market with a fish counter because the river was hidden behind a tall wall and couldn’t be fished any more. Our tumbledown farmhouse was a “fine dining experience”.

    Worst of all they built a road with a round-about and at the centre was a pole and at the very top of the pole was a brass sculpture of a heron.

    The real herons of course had gone.

    1. Thank you for relating your experience. How interesting! It is true, then? Developers name their develpments for and celebrate what was there before they obliterate or erase it eighty percent of the time! Where are the five girls now?

Leave a Reply

